The Best of Brunch: Baa, Baa Black Sheep

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

When it comes to indulging a little, brunch is the perfect meal to do it. After multiple recommendations from my new coworkers, Mark and I finally got around to trying Black Sheep. The restaurant is located in the 5 Points area of Jacksonville and is easily one of the most popular. With multiple floors and an open rooftop, Black Sheep offers southern eats made with fresh ingredients.

Our meal started with both a Bloody Mary and a Bloody Winston (gin vs vodka). Then some fried olives served with pimiento cheese, which were crispy and delicious. While they were good with the cheese, I much preferred them on their own.

Indulging like I’d intended to, I then ordered Cardamom Pancakes and the Fresh Bacon and Eggs. Overall, the food was very tasty. The cardamom and vanilla was just right and not too sweet, especially since they were served with blueberry compote and apple butter. Bacon was actually fresh pork belly – win, win. And while I’m not a fan of grits, theirs were pretty impressive. Oh and that biscuit was buttery awesomeness. I definitely wasn’t expecting the portions to be so big, so remember that when you’re ordering.

I’m planning on coming for dinner soon so I can request a rooftop table. If you have any Jacksonville area eats, please share!

-Dee
@candidcomments

Black Sheep
1534 Oak Street
Jacksonville, FL 32204
+Facebook / @BlackSheepJax

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Jacksonville, The Best of Brunch

Author:Dee

One part foodie, one part geek, two parts slave to fashion & beauty. I love Japanese and Indian food as much as I love Chanel and Star Wars. I like things spicy, but not too hot. ;)

Subscribe

Never miss a meal with TCP Takeout! Subscribe and they're delivered right to your inbox. Enjoy!

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

