The Real Deal: Traveling on a Budget – Three Atlanta Eateries Under $10

Traveling for business can take a toll on your wallet if you do not give yourself a reasonable budget. Atlanta is a city known for its food, so it is easy to get carried away with so many restaurants to choose from. You will surely find southern style barbeque shacks, upscale diners and chic urban eateries of all cuisines. I made sure to ask the locals where I could find the best eats in the city.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1. First on my list is Mirko Pasta in Toco Hills. Pasta is not something I usually crave when I am eating out, but this restaurant was highly recommended by some locals; and since the menu had great lunch specials I figure it was worth a shot. It was my first time at an Italian restaurant where the pastas are made fresh from scratch every morning. My waiter brought out a tray with all the different types of dry pasta, and I was given the option to build my own pasta with my choice of sauce and meats. They have a total of 17 homemade pastas and 12 daily made sauces. The possibilities are endless at Mirko Pasta! I had the Butternut Squash Ravioli in a basil tomato sauce with an eggplant, ricotta, and fresh mozzarella filling and it only cost me $7.99! It was so appetizing! The ravioli was rich and creamy, but still light; and all the ingredients were fresh which created a unique combination of seasoning. If I didn’t know any better I could have mistaken Mirko Pasta for an upscale Italian restaurant. And since it is a chain restaurant in Atlanta; I do hope Mirko Pasta finds it’s way to South Florida in the near future. Follow them @MirkoPastaToco

2. Mellow Mushroom is definitely a local favorite pizza joint in Atlanta. After hearing my out-of-town friends continuously rave about the “out-of-this-world” pizza toppings at Mellow Mushroom I HAD to have some while I was in town. It was definitely a groovy hot spot and after my first bite of pizza I could see why it was a local hangout. My friend and I shared a medium pizza at $8 each; half of the pie was the Kosmic Karma – feta and mozzarella cheese, spinach, sun-dried tomatoes and roma tomatoes with a cosmic pesto swirl. The other half was the Holy Shiitake – an overload of shiitake & portobello mushrooms, olive oil & garlic, mozzarella and montamore cheese, drizzled with garlic aioli and truffle oil. It had FOODGASM written all over the pizza. There couldn’t have been another pizza designed more perfectly for me.  Pesto, mushrooms, garlic aioli and truffle oil ALL IN ONE PIZZA is undeserved! It was hard not to swallow the pizza in its entirety, but I made sure to savor each and every bite from the spinach and feta cheese to the fresh pesto to the zesty garlic aioli to the distinctive earthy aroma of truffles. Holy Pizza! Mellow Mushroom certainly set the bar high. Unfortunately, there is still no Mellow Mushroom in South Florida. Follow them @MellowMushroom

3. Saving room for dessert is always a must, even on a business venture. Since I am a huge fan of Bravo’s Top Chef, paying a visit to Chef Richard Blais’ Flip Burger Boutique was on the top of my lists of things to do in Atlanta. A friend tried to convince me to try Yeah Burger instead, but there was no way I could pass up on Chef Richard Blais’ Nutella & Burnt Marshmallow Nitrogen Milkshake ($5.50). The milkshake had exactly the right proportion of nutella and the taste of burnt marshmallows paired with the sweetness of the nitrogen shake perfectly. It was not overly sweet like most nutella desserts. Although I only stopped in for dessert, I did notice the wide selection of gourmet burgers at Flip Burger Boutique that would suit any taste bud. Whether you are in the mood for a hearty BBQ Burger with BBQ brisket or a gamey Lamburger with goat cheese or a vegetarian Fauxlafel Burger with chickpea and tzatziki – there’s a burger for everyone! Follow them @flipburger

If you are planning a trip to Atlanta, you will definitely want to squeeze all three of these local eateries in your itinerary. Mirko Pasta, Mellow Mushroom and Flip Burger Boutique offer exceptional food with surprising flavors for your taste buds at affordable prices, perfect for any budget.

-Honey
@ohhxhoney

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Atlanta, Oh, the Places We Go!, The Real Deal

Author:Honey

Free spirited; inspired by my passion for travel. Fashion obsessed beauty junkie with a love for anything stylish and scrumptious.

Subscribe

Never miss a meal with TCP Takeout! Subscribe and they're delivered right to your inbox. Enjoy!

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

