Spotlight on England: My Top Three Meals from Across the Pond

I’ve had the privilege to go to England three times with Graham and explore the country and most importantly their food. I could probably list you my 10 most favorites places to eat — but in this post, I’ll be sharing my top three with you.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1. INDIAN FOOD
I was surprised to learn that England’s national dish is Chicken Tikka Masala. After looking online and doing a bit of research, it was confirmed. About.com stated the following: “There is much dispute about which is truly the English national dish. Number one on the list for many years has been Roast Beef and Yorkshire Puddings (LOVE THEM) and Fish and Chips though some argue it is possibly Chicken Tikka Masala which is now ”Britain’s true national dish.”

The Panahar Tandoori is a-m-a-z-i-n-g. I am so happy Graham introduced me to the world of Indian food. It is located in Esher, near Graham’s family home, which you will find them there often!

For starters, we always get the papadums and chutneys. I do not know the names of the different sauces, but I pretty much mix two of the sauces together with the onions and it’s the perfect combination for me. I can probably eat the whole tray myself (seriously). Most people will get the Chicken Tikka Masala as their main dish, but my favorite is the Chicken Saag. The spinach, the sauce and the chicken go hand and hand. We had these as left overs the next day and it still tasted perfect.

2. CORNISH PASTIES
Every time I tell someone in England that my favorite dish is the Cornish pasties they laugh. It’s safe to say that the Cornish pasties would not typically be on a foodie must-have list when you have the traditional fish & chips and bangers & mash on the menu.

The West Cornwall Pasty Company in Kingston Upon Thames is my pasty-go-to spot. You are welcomed with an array of pasties once you enter the store. Steak and Stilton is my favorite. It’s a hand-crimped flaky-pastry filled with tender beef skirt, potato and onions, blended with fresh crumbled stilton and is well seasoned. Cheese + Meat + Pastry = YES!

3. DONER KEBAB
When we go out in Miami and have one too many drinks: IHOP, Denny’s, Steak ‘n Shake and of course, Steve’s Pizza is where I go to alleviate my drunkenness. In England, it’s the Doner Kebab. Found either in a store or a truck, they await you and are often found by pubs. (Granted there are pubs in every corner of England.) The Doner Kebab we order is served with flat bread. The meat on the Doner Kebab is well-seasoned lamb that is thinly sliced. You can choose different toppings such as tomato, onion, lettuce and pickled cucumber. I love to eat mine with onions and burger sauce!

So, whenever you find yourself across the pond and have some time to spare- check out my top three!

-Lotus
@lotus_lucien

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: England, Oh, the Places We Go!

Author:Lotus

Graphic Designer // Lover of art, cheese, photography, traveling, country line dancing + cows.

Subscribe

Never miss a meal with TCP Takeout! Subscribe and they're delivered right to your inbox. Enjoy!

One Comment on “Spotlight on England: My Top Three Meals from Across the Pond”

  1. October 5, 2014 at 2:13 am #

    Ridiculous story there. What occurred after? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

