Dining In with Bobby Deen

Bobby Deen is the host of The Cooking Channel’s successful show “Not My Mama’s Meals.” Bobby transforms his Mom’s (Paula Deen) hearty rich southern recipes into a lighter yet still delicious meal. In addition, you will also see him make an appearance on his Mom’s show on the Food Network called “Paula’s Best Dishes.” He also co owns The Lady and Sons Restaurant in Savannah, Georgia and is the author of numerous bestselling cookbooks. He is very close with his family and is one of the most down to earth people in the business. Check out my Collective Plate interview with the very charming Bobby Deen.

Jenn:  On your down time, what is your favorite dish to cook?

Bobby:  I have a beautiful house by the water and a great big kitchen. Savannah, Georgia has a great supply of seafood and I love to cook fish & scallops.

Jenn:  I’m a big fan of food trucks. Have you ever considered opening a Lady and Son’s food truck?

Bobby:  No because me, my brother (Jamie Deen), and my mom have our hands full with our TV shows and the restaurant in Savannah, GA.

Jenn:  I’m a Miami, FL native; do you have a go to Miami restaurant?

Bobby:  When my family & I are in Miami, it is usually during the South Beach Wine & Food Festival. We are only in Miami for a short period of time and it is a family tradition to go to Joe’s Stone Crab.

Jenn:  Since it’s college football season, I know you are a HUGE Georgia Bulldogs fan (Ahem..GO GATORS!). What is served at a typical Bobby Deen tailgating party?

Bobby:   I would turn up my gas grill, slap on some BBQ ribs, have some potato salad and a cold beer. If the weather is cold, I will serve a pot of chili and make a Frito pie.

Jenn:  What is in the Frito pie?

Bobby:  The bottom of the pie will have a layer of Fritos, then chili, cheese, sour cream and then I will top it off with a dash of black pepper.

Jenn:  Mmm…That sounds yummy! Congrats on your new show on The Cooking Channel “Not My Mama’s Meals.”

Bobby:  Thank you Jenn!

Jenn:  Will we be expecting a cookbook soon? If so, when?

Bobby:  Yes, I will be having a cookbook out on Feb 2013 called “From Mama’s Table to Mine” and all the recipes will be 350 calories or less.

Jenn: Thank you so much Bobby for doing this interview for The Collective Plate and I wish you nothing but the best.

Bobby: My pleasure and thank you for having me Jenn!

Please be sure to check out Bobby Deen’s show called “Not My Mama’s Meals” on The Cooking Channel every Wednesday at 9pm.

-Jenn
@AsianSenzation

www.thedeenbros.com
www.cookingchanneltv.com/bobby-deen
+Facebook // @BobbyDeen & @thedeenbros

Tags: , ,

Categories: Chefs + Food Personalities

Author:Jenn

Nurse with an adventurous palate

Subscribe

Never miss a meal with TCP Takeout! Subscribe and they're delivered right to your inbox. Enjoy!

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

