In the Kitchen: A Mickey Mouse Cake Fit for Any Age

This past weekend, I decided to try something new, creative, and fun. Inspired by one of my best friends, Lindsay, I decided to combine two of my passions together: Desserts and Disney.

Since my birthday just passed, I figured this would be a perfect time to make a cake, an ice cream cake in the shape of Mickey Mouse’s head. So with some guidance from her and a lot of improvising, I created a delectable four layer ice cream cake with alternating layers of yellow cake and chocolate chip ice cream. You can use any flavor cake or ice cream you would like. The ingredients I used were:

  • 1 Boxes Pillsbury Yellow Cake Mix
  • 2 2.5 Quart Breyers Chocolate Chip Ice Cream
  • 2 Smuckers Magic Shell Chocolate Fudge
  • 1 Box Premium White Chocolate

First, I baked the yellow cake in two 8” round cake pans following the instructions on the box. After allowing the cakes to cool, I cut both cakes horizontally to create the layers. I froze the cakes for about 30 minutes. Once the cakes have been chilled, I took them out to start layering the cakes. The first cake is for the face. I took half of the cake, layered it with ice cream, put the other half and applied another layer of ice cream. For the ears, I took a cup and stamped out two circles from the second 8” cake. I repeated the layering steps, assembled the Mickey head, and put the cake back in the freezer to freeze.

After another 30 minutes, I took the cake out and frosted the cake with left over softened ice cream, and returned the cake in the freezer. 30 minutes later, I took the Smuckers Magic Shell Chocolate Fudge and squirted the fudge all over the cake and returned the cake to the freezer. While the cake hardened, I melted five squares of the white chocolate and added red food coloring. I took the cake out and poured the chocolate on the bottom half of the cake. I melted the last white chocolate square and attempted to form them into two circles for the buttons. I returned the cake to freeze and Voilà, I have a homemade ice cream cake in the shape of Mickey’s head!

The process was long, but quite rewarding as this was my first attempt at making an ice cream cake and my first attempt at making a Mickey Mouse cake. Aesthetically, the cake could have been a lot smoother.

I blame this on 2 things:

  1. This was my first try so I am bound to make mistakes and
  2. I’m a guy who does not know his way around the kitchen!

On the other hand, the cake was delicious. My main obstacle was the ice cream melting and losing it’s shape. Next time, I think leaving the cake in the freezer longer would help, as well as making the kitchen as frigid as I can tolerate. Also, going rogue from the original recipe was a risk that I wanted to experiment, which was a failure because of all the challenges I had to overcome.

When Lindsay created her cake, she used crushed Oreos and red and white Wilton Candy Melts for coloring. My choice of fudge and white chocolate was a challenge, as it mixed with the melting ice cream giving it an uneven texture. Also, all the overflow of chocolate made it rather messy for clean up. One other change I would have made would be using Funfetti cake instead of yellow cake because I personally love Funfetti cake. But in the end, the cake was delicious and I had a blast creating this Mickey Mouse inspired ice cream cake.

Thanks again Lindsay for the inspiration. Please share your thoughts on how I can improve on making an ice cream cake. I hope you all have a magical day! °o°

-Mo
@mastamo26

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: In the Kitchen

Author:Mo

Filipino accountant. Former Disney CP/CM, current Disney aficionado °o° Miami sports fan. EDM lover, country line dancer. Random.

Subscribe

Never miss a meal with TCP Takeout! Subscribe and they're delivered right to your inbox. Enjoy!

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

