Mangia at Macaluso’s!

Macaluso’s is tucked away in Miami Beach, inside a plaza away from the tourist trap.

This restaurant screams ROMANCE! LOVE! FIRST DATE! The lights are dimmed, the candles are lit, and the music of the late Frank Sinatra is playing in the background. Don’t expect the food menu to be handed to you because it will only be the wine menu. The menu will be presented to you verbally with a tray selection of dry pasta.

Our friendly server explained which pasta noodle will go with what dish. If you get overwelmed, feel free to ask the server to go over the menu. (I know I did a few times.) First things first, I ordered the infamous meatballs that so many people talk about. Now these were some serious meatballs and I could see why the dish is the star of the restaurant! They were the size of my fist, laying on top of a bed of thick marinara sauce with a generous dollop of ricotta cheese. As soon as I bite into it – it was fluffy, moist and just instantly melted in my mouth. WOW! The whole time I was thinking, “What the heck are in those magical meatballs?” As for dessert, I ordered the ricotta cheesecake. I’m not much of a cheesecake kind of gal but this totally won me over. The taste kind of reminded me of a creamy egg custard pie.

Mmmm… When you are done with your meal, browse around and head to the back towards the restroom. You will see walls of celebrity pictures that have stopped by to eat at this Italian gem. I loved the mugshot portrait of Frank Sinatra in the ladies room. He was such a bad boy!

Total= 16/20
Ambiance: 4
Service: 4
Price: 4
Food: 4

-Jenn
@AsianSenzation

P.S. Next door to the restaurant is Macaluso’s Market that sells the restaurants signature sauces, meatballs, etc. which are all produced on the premises.

Macaluso’s
1747 Alton Road
Miami Beach, FL 33139
+ Facebook // @Macalusos

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Restaurant Reviews

Author:Jenn

Nurse with an adventurous palate

Subscribe

Never miss a meal with TCP Takeout! Subscribe and they're delivered right to your inbox. Enjoy!

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

