The Real Deal: Skyline Chili

Nowadays when you go out for a meal, it seems that most restaurants are trying to create the new, creative, popular dish. They battle each other in trying to become the new hot spot for dining. While this is a good thing, as this is how new dishes are created, we tend to forget the other places. The places that have been around for a long time offering what they have for decades. Most of the time, they still have the same menu they have had for years. Unchanged and unaltered, why? Because a great dish is timeless, it ages with grace like a fine wine.

So always looking for places I have never tried, a friend one day told me about this classic diner called Skyline Chili. When I walked in, it felt like I had been transported back to a classic American diner in the 50s. I sat down and right away a friendly waiter came over asked what I wanted to drink and handed me the menu.

The first thing I noticed was everything pretty much on the menu has chili in it like the name would suggest. Chili dogs, chili fries, chili potatoes, chili bowls and if you’re not in the chili mood they offer different wraps. The dish they are most famous for is their Chili Ways, which is a bowl of spaghetti covered with their famous Chili and on top they put a mound (and I mean mound) of shredded cheese. They have the 3 Way (which is the one I just described), the 4 Way comes with beans or onions and the 5 Way is beans and onions.

I ordered the 4 Way and it literally took 2 minutes before my order was ready and placed down in front of me. Oh my, I was greeted with cheese and chili galore! I mixed the cheese in with the chili and spaghetti and took my first bite. After just one bite I was sold. The chili was fantastic with an extremely unique taste, maybe nutmeg or some spice around that flavor. If you love cheese, you would love this dish! Also I have never had pasta with chili, normally I have rice. The spaghetti went perfect with the dish and really rounded out the meal. I got the large portion and that was definately enough to fill me, and around $6-7 – it’s a steal!

This classic dish has been unaltered since 1949 and you can tell why, it’s cheap, filling and tastes superb. Add that with the fast and friendly service, this is a great place to pig out and have an easy, hassle free meal. If you pass by one and you are hungry, make sure you stop in and taste the great food!

Total Score: 16.5/20
Ambiance: 3.5
Service: 4.5
Food: 4
Price: 4.5

-Graham
@GTS108

Skyline Chili
2590 North Federal Highway
Ft. Lauderdale, FL 3305

Twitter: @Skyline_Chili
Facebook: Skyline Chili

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Fort Lauderdale, Restaurant Reviews, The Real Deal

Author:Graham

A sports fan, super geek who loves his fiance, writing, beer and video games.

Subscribe

Never miss a meal with TCP Takeout! Subscribe and they're delivered right to your inbox. Enjoy!

3 Comments on “The Real Deal: Skyline Chili”

  1. May 31, 2012 at 11:50 pm #

    holy moley, does that sound delicious. i don’t think you can ever have enough cheese on chili! hope to try skyline chili one day! great review!

  2. K. Miller
    November 10, 2012 at 2:49 am #

    The secret spices (at least in our homemade version, when we can’t get to Skyline) are allspice, cinnamon, cayenne pepper, and unsweetened baking chocolate.

  3. November 12, 2012 at 2:23 pm #

    Thank you K. Miller! Need to try that!

Leave a Reply

